Results tagged ‘ Final Vote ’

David Robertson on Final Vote: “Second place is good, but we want to win”

David RobertsonDavid Robertson never got around to making any travel or vacation plans for his All-Star break, instead committing one of his free days to appear in a charity golf tournament benefiting victims of last year’s Hurricane Sandy.

Since Robertson is already going to be in the New York area, it’d be no problem for him to join Mariano Rivera and Robinson Cano with the rest of the All-Stars at Citi Field on July 16, and so he’d love to continue building on a strong start in the Final Vote campaign.

Robertson jumped to second place in the AL on Tuesday, trailing only the Blue Jays’ Steve Delabar, and fans have until Thursday to help Robertson make up that ground and punch a ticket for what would be his second career All-Star game.

“Second place is good, but we want to win. I want to go to the All-Star Game,” Robertson said. “I’ve gotten a tremendous amount of support. I can’t say enough about what my teammates have done and the staff here with the Yankees. They’re giving me every opportunity to get on the radio and try to spread the word to hopefully swing a few more votes.”

Robertson said that he wants to urge fans to go to to cast their votes. He has been trending on Twitter with the hashtag #HighSocksForVotes, and he appreciates that, but it is important to note that tweets will only count as votes between 11 a.m. and 4 p.m. ET on Thursday.

Right now, the best way to vote for Robertson is to go to Robertson is listed with Delabar, Koji Uehara of the Red Sox, Joaquin Benoit of the Tigers and Tanner Scheppers of the Rangers.

“Right now, if you’re a Yankees fan and want to see me go to the All-Star Game, go to and vote for David Robertson as many times as you want,” Robertson said.

Here’s what you need to know —

Nick Swisher is an All-Star

Thumbnail image for sendswish.JPGThe last Final Vote ballots have been counted, and they all add up to one thing — Nick Swisher is an American League All-Star for the first time in his career.

Here’s the official press release:
Nick Swisher of the New York Yankees and Joey Votto of the Cincinnati Reds were chosen by fans as the winners of the 2010 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Sprint in online balloting voting exclusively on, the official Web site of Major League Baseball, and the individual Club sites.

On the American League ballot, Swisher held off Kevin Youkilis of the Boston Red Sox in the closest race in the nine-year history of the All-Star Final Vote to claim the final spot on the All-Star roster with a final tally of 9.8 million votes. Swisher and Youkilis were followed by Paul Konerko of the Chicago White Sox; Michael Young of the Texas Rangers; and Delmon Young of the Minnesota Twins.

The National League winner, Votto, led all vote-getters with 13.7 million en route to becoming the first Reds player to win the All-Star Final Vote. He was followed by Ryan Zimmerman of the Washington Nationals; Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies; and Billy Wagner of the Atlanta Braves. San Diego Padres pitcher Heath Bell was removed from the NL ballot after he was named to the All-Star Team as a replacement for Yovani Gallardo of the Milwaukee Brewers.

Baseball fans and Clubs alike feverishly supported the 10 candidates named by All-Star managers Joe Girardi and Charlie Manuel during the four days of balloting, particularly through their use of’s All-Star Campaign Manager program, in which nearly 150,000 fans participated and tallied points for their favorite players, and by forming joint alliances, such as Reds-Red Sox (1975 World Series), Nationals and Rangers (Third Base Ticket) and Rox and (White) Sox, ultimately leading to more than 52 million votes being cast.

Previous winners of the All-Star Game Final Vote were: Brandon Inge (AL, 2009), Shane Victorino (NL, 2009); Evan Longoria (AL, 2008); Corey Hart (NL, 2008), Hideki Okajima (AL, 2007); Chris Young (NL, 2007); A.J. Pierzynski (AL, 2006); Nomar Garciaparra (NL, 2006); Scott Podsednik (AL, 2005); Roy Oswalt (NL, 2005); Hideki Matsui (AL, 2004); Bobby Abreu (NL, 2004); Jason Varitek (AL, 2003); Geoff Jenkins (NL, 2003); Johnny Damon (AL, 2002); and Andruw Jones (NL, 2002).


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43,563 other followers

%d bloggers like this: